Smooth(ie) Operator

7 12 2010

smoothieYou may remember a while back, I mentioned how much I love to blend. I really, really do. I love to food process, too, but that is a topic for another day.

Today, I thought I’d share my current favorite smoothie meal replacement recipe. I always mix up what’s in my almost-daily smoothie, but this one I find particularly good. It isn’t green, but has a lot of good stuff in it, and comes close to tasting like a strawberry milkshake. The calories are on the higher side, as I usually make this one for a meal replacement with a side of Manna Bread. (Don’t know Manna Bread? It is sooo good.) This smoothie for me is great on days when I don’t really have time for lunch but need something to fuel an afternoon workout. If I was making this for a snack instead of a meal replacement, I’d use water instead of milk, and leave out the oats and banana, bringing down the calories substantially.

Test Kitchen’s Butternut-N-Berry Smoothie Meal 

  • 1 cup skim milk (you could use milk replacement here, too, like soy, almond, or rice milk)
  • 1 cup frozen cubed butternut squash (see below for preparation)
  • 2/3 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 whole banana
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used Designer Whey Strawberry)

Add the ingredients to your blender and blend until you have a consistency you like. If you have a traditional blender, you may need to add a bit more milk to get it to blend. Thankfully, my Ninja blends the heck out of this in exactly no time flat.

Nutrition
Calories: 546
Total Fat: 4.4g
Saturated Fat: 1.2g
Cholesterol: 59mg
Sodium: 243 mg
Carb: 95g
Fiber: 11.6g
Sugars: 42.9g
Protein: 38g

Preparing Butternut Squash
Right now, butternut, acorn, and pretty much all winter squash is close to free at our Trader Joe’s. A big butternut will set you back $1.59 total, not per pound. So, I buy a couple when I’m in there, roast them, and freeze them in cubes for easy access for just about anything. Here’s what you do:

  • Microwave the uncut squash for 3-4 minutes to soften the skin
  • Cut it in half lengthwise and scoop out the insides
  • Place cut size down on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet or roasting pan
  • Roast at 350 for about an hour, or until it is soft
  • Let cool, then, remove the skin (it should pretty much just peel off) and cut into cubes
  • Place on a plate or other flat surface in a single layer and freeze for about 30 minutes, until they set up, which keeps them from sticking together
  • Add the frozen cubes to a freezer bag or container and freeze completely
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

